Landscape Resource Post

Google Art Project: Landscape with a Goatherd and Goats by Claude

Landscape with a Goatherd and Goats by Claude (1636-7.) National Gallery.

I chose Landscape with a Goatherd and Goats by Claude because I really like the way the artist used light in this painting. The horizon shows that the sun is either rising or setting, but nevertheless a beautiful orange-yellow is used to show the transition. The goatherd lies under the shadow of presumably a large tree, which is something I can relate to as I have had the pleasure of lying under a countryside tree as the sun sets. I like the detail used in the painting as well. At first glance, I did not notice the stream in the background, the vines climbing the tree, the detail of the clouds, or the muddy beach towards the side of the painting, but all of these details became apparent after further examination. Although Claude was a European artist, this landscape reminds me of past summers spent in rural North Carolina; between the pond, overgrown flora, peacefulness, and the sunlight I can see a similarity. Finally, how I chose this painting because I like how Claude painted the leaves. He did not paint every single leaf, but the way he utilized color made gave the appearance.

 

 

 

 

 

About bthorpe15

Intro to Fine Arts.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

